Financial Responsibility for Crash, Conviction or Judgment
According to the Texas Safety Responsibility or Evidence of Financial Responsibility law, persons whose driving privilege has been suspended or revoked are required to file and maintain a Form Texas SR-22 with the Department. Form SR-22 insurance is mandatory for a period of two (2) years from the date of conviction.
NOTE: An insurance card or policy cannot be accepted in place of the Form SR-22.
A Form SR22 is a 'certificate of insurance’ that shows the Texas Department proof of insurance for the future, as required by law. It is Texas motor vehicle liability insurance which requires the insurance company to certify coverage to DPS, and the insurance company must notify DPS anytime the policy is cancelled, terminated or lapses.
You do not need to own a vehicle to buy this type of insurance. If you do not own a vehicle, please contact an insurance agent/company of your choice and talk to them about a non-owner Form SR-22.
How Much will Houston Texas SR22 cost?
Cost for Houston Texas Sr22 varies depending on type on violations and insured age. Get a free no obligation sr22 quote. There's never a charge for your SR22 Filing when you request your online Insurance Quote through this site. Feel free to browse or call us for more information or personal quote assistance.
Cancelled SR-22 Insurance
Once the Department receives notification from the insurance company that the policy is cancelled, terminated, or lapses, enforcement action may be taken. If the Form SR-22 is still required and there is not a valid Form SR-22 on file, the driving privilege and vehicle registration may be suspended.
SR22 Reinstatement Requirement
1. A reinstatement fee will be required prior to the renewal/issuance of a driver license.
2. Obtain proof of insurance (Form SR-22) from your insurance company and submit to the Department. The Form SR-22 is required for two (2) years from the date of conviction.
Penalty for Failure to Maintain Houston Texas SR22
You need to maintain your sr22 insurance Texas filing until your required filing period has expired. Your insurance company has been required by law to notify the state for cancellation of your SR22 when your auto insurance policy lapses. If not replaced with another insurance certificate, your Drivers License along with vehicle tags and registrations can again be suspended.
Minimum Liability Amounts in Texas
Current minimum liability coverage amounts are $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person in one accident, $60,000 for bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in one accident, and $25,000 for damage to or destruction of property of others in one accident.
For more information about Texas SR-22 Insurance contact us at 800-374-9227 or fill out an Texas SR-22 Insurance quote today!